Echo Ocho

Echo Ocho

Peter Kardas

“I Saw You”

  • LP
  • 14 Tracks
  • Original release 1986 & 1987
  • Reissued Nov 2, 2018

I Saw You is the distillation of Right Belief and Right Action, heretofore unknown private issue cassettes from 1986 and 1987 by Peter Thomas Kardas. A student of Guitar Craft and accredited member of The League of Crafty Guitarists, Kardas drew inspiration from Robert Fripp’s loop-based Frippertronics, but the expansive, introspective washes of synths and repeated phrases and vocalizations are utterly their own thing, conjuring the independence, awe and isolation of the remote Northern Californian landscapes in which they were created.

Produced in collaboration with Yoga Records.

Distributed by Forced ExposureSeance Centre, & Clear Spot.

Side A

  • I Saw You (2:53)
  • Morning Sunrise (2:36)
  • Other Playgrounds (5:12)
  • Blue Water (2:00)
  • The Secret (1:37)
  • Voices of Voyage (5:52)
  • Adam's Song (1:22)
  • Words For You (2:17)

Side B

  • Untitled (3:54)
  • Dreams (2:09)
  • The Second Winter (5:41)
  • Song For Eddie (1:59)
  • One Tear (1:41)
  • Claire (7:27)
Catalog Number: EO1

Produced by Peter Kardas
Remastered by Peter Kardas
Cover by Peter Kardas and Aleya Hoerlein
Reissue produced by Tyler Craft and Douglas Mcgowan


For those fans of mysterious 1980’s outsider loners such as Lewis, or collections of zonked outsider New Age such as Light In the Attic’s I Am The Center, I Saw You will be right up your alley, and make for some righteous monochromatic third eye opening.

The 13th Track

Gentle washes of synth and Kardas’s delay-drenched vocals bring to mind Panda Bear’s Young Prayer, Stag Hare and VALES. It’s an incredibly prescient track foreshadowing drone-based minimalism that would find purchase 20 years later.

Tome To The Weather Machine

The music is woeful and haunting, at times akin to a horror movie soundtrack, yet at the same time is full of a certain optimism and deep emotion. Icy synths, ghostly vocals, and drone-like repetitions make it feel like you’re abandoned on some remote freezing terrain, while hopeful yearning and soothing melodies soon comfort and warm you just enough before it get too cold. Kardas’ loop-based guitar work is a significant standout here. Highly recommended for fans of Durutti Column, Robert Fripp, or any listener who can find the beauty in loneliness.